The Lower Selma Museum is found in the former Lower Selma United Church.
This church, which is now a designated Heritage Property, was built in 1865 as the Lower Selma Presbyterian Church.
The building contract went to William Wiswell of Halifax, who was assisted by James Corston of Halifax, and Gilmore McLellan of Noel Shore.
This Church was built to serve two groups known as the First and Second Congregations of Noel and Maitland. It was used by each on alternate Sundays.
In 1925 the Church amalgamated and became part of the United Church of Canada. In 1967 at the age of 102, the Church closed it's doors and remained vacant until 1981 when the dream of the East Hants Historical Society became a reality and the museum opened.
Originally, the church had white plaster walls. In 1881 Lewis Baillie of Newport, Nova Scotia, was hired. He painted the walls and ceiling entirely with feathers using a tempera based paint. This technique gave the walls a unique marble effect, which has both intrigued and fascinated onlookers for years and also provides a wonderful backdrop for our exhibits.